RSS

Brobdingnag: the illustration’s end note

12 Sep

Yesterday I shared with you the original illustrated map for Brobdingnag.  Did you happen to notice that the plate had an end note?  Let me share that note with you.

New Albion was the old name for California and some of the other names are Californian; the Straits of Annian correspond perhaps to San Francisco Bay, but the scatological implication of the name is clearer.

Scatological?  Scat?  like animal droppings?  Take a second look at the illustration.  Can you find the Straights of Annian?  What does the area look like?  

I’ll use the word that’s allowed at our house.  Bum.  It’s a giant bum!  I can’t get away from the bathroom humor in this book, so today I’ll embrace it and share with you this song from the tv show Scrubs.   Christina, if the ban is still in place, don’t click on the link.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on September 12, 2011 in Gulliver's Travels

 

Tags: ,

6 responses to “Brobdingnag: the illustration’s end note

  1. Jeannette

    September 12, 2011 at 7:38 pm

    Oh, funny! Just what we needed here – a dose of humor. Guess these things are what you miss if your book has no illustrations (or notes.) Would you have noticed this scatological reference on your own? Now to work “scatological” into normal daily conversation…

     
  2. Christina

    September 12, 2011 at 8:33 pm

    My copy has these maps, but I never would have caught that (or so I’d like to think.)

    And Scatological???? Wow, my vocabulary is really expanding with all these classics. We could practically have a Scatological Category on the blog. Too bad I have that Scat Ban.

    Oh, and I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE the Scrubs musical. Love.

     
  3. Jeannette

    September 21, 2011 at 12:35 pm

    I finally found the scatological reference in Pt. 4. YUCK!

     

Leave a Reply

 
