RSS

Enter Mr. Wickham or Appearances Can Be Deceiving

15 Oct

A new character appears on the scene in Chapter 15. (Cue romantic music.)   He is dashing.  He is handsome.  He is a man in uniform.  He is charming to all the girls.  He speaks with authority and just the right amount of heart.   They all fall for it.

Wickham gives Elizabeth one version of his story, racking up more points against Mr. Darcy for his hardheartedness and lack of fairness.   From the beginning of Chapter 17, Jane says, “it is not in my nature to question the veracity of a young man of such amiable appearance as Wickham.”   Get that?  She is going to believe his story because he is a stud!  Girls!  I’m disappointed in you.  Don’t be so gullible!

(But, when I’m being honest with myself, I know it is very easy to make snap judgments based on appearance.   I’ve been taken in myself a time or two.)

 
2 Comments

Posted by on October 15, 2011 in Pride and Prejudice

 

Tags:

2 responses to “Enter Mr. Wickham or Appearances Can Be Deceiving

  1. Christine

    October 17, 2011 at 2:21 pm

    Ooo, I’m a little afraid of Wickham. I haven’t finished the book yet, but I think a good limerick rhyme for him would be “trick-them”.

     

Leave a Reply

 
