RSS

Mrs. Bennet’s Limerick

16 Oct

Mrs. Bennet’s social interactions are awkward and embarrassing. 
Here is an awkward and embarrassing limerick dedicated to this P&P character.

Mrs. Bennet’s a matchmaker.
Like one of her girls?  Here, take her!
     Getting daughters wed,
     it consumes her head.
Refused proposal?  Heart-breaker.

 Like Mrs. Bennet, who often shares too much, I shall now do the same and entertain you with rhymes my family suggested while I was composing this brief work of poetry.
“Family, I need words that rhyme with match-maker.”
“partaker”     “forsake her”     “leaf raker”     “pastry baker”

What’s your favorite embarrassing Mrs. Bennet moment?

 
1 Comment

Posted by on October 16, 2011 in Pride and Prejudice

 

Tags: , , ,

One response to “Mrs. Bennet’s Limerick

  1. Jeannette

    October 17, 2011 at 11:09 am

    I think I’m inspired to create more limericks!

    Favorite Mrs. B. quote lately – she’s talking to Lizzy about Jane and bemoaning Charles Bingley’s ill-treatment: “…if I was her, I would not have put up with it. Well, my comfort is, I am sure Jane will die of a broken heart, and then he will be sorry for what he has done.”

    Her COMFORT is that Jane will die of a broken heart and Bingley will be sorry?!! What a mixed up mom she is.

     

Leave a Reply

 
