RSS

Take Note, Lutheran Darcys

21 Oct

We’ve had a fair amount of talk about Accomplished Young Ladies here on the blog, and if you haven’t already followed and written into the comments of this particular post I’d encourage you to do so.

Instead of listing all the qualities that I think make up that elite group I decided to take Mr. Darcy up on his little challenge.  He claims he knows six.  I’ll go so far as to name that many.

Here they are in no particular order:

1.  Amy.  You read her guest post the other day.  I dare you to tell me she’s not accomplished.  Plus, I happen to know that beyond being well read, and good with words she’s funny, charming, musical, creative, adventurous and fantastic with the kiddos.

2.  Hannah.  Amy’s sister.  She’s a poet.  A published one.  Want some bloggable proof of her poetic genius? Check out this.

3.  Yammie. (Not her actual name.)  If you can make fantastic recipes, splatter your blog with enticing pictures of the results, and then write about food and life in a way that makes you want to move right into the noshery, then you have accomplished something.  Also, I have no doubt that her sisters have all earned their AYL’s as well.

4.  Adriane.  To be fair I do not actually know Adriane.  I just stalk her.  Okay, we have lots of mutual friends, so that makes it less creepy.  Right?  Anyway, she’s the Managing Editor of The Lutheran Witness.  Just typing that sentence made me all nervous.  Should her title be capitalized?  Are magazines italicized?  Is she going to think I’m a creeper?  Okay, I’m over it now.  (Not really.)  Here’s a post where she goes to town in earning her Accomplished Young Lady title, but make sure you take time to read her whole blog.

5.  Ashley.  I’m biased.  She cares for my children while I’m off playing with cool Lutheran musical things (yep, pretty much the best job ever.)  But what sets her apart is exactly that.  She cares for my children, not just watches them, or tolerates them, or earns her measly pay.  Nope, she genuinely cares.  Accomplish that, young ladies.  It’s important.

6.  Kezia.  She should blog more so you could see her accomplishments, but here’sa tiny little peak that shows you that there are still some accomplished young sewers wielding the needle and thread along with their music, theological studies, and general kindness.

What do all these AYL’s have in common?  It’s pretty simple:  they have all earned my undying jealousy.  I so wish I would have been like them in my teens and twenties.  But we won’t dwell on that.  Instead we move forward, read like crazy, love our husbands, rear our offspring, and strive to achieve the title of AOL.


 
6 Comments

Posted by on October 21, 2011 in Pride and Prejudice

 

Tags: ,

6 responses to “Take Note, Lutheran Darcys

  1. Christine

    October 23, 2011 at 12:17 pm

    I’m so thankful that my oldest has these Accomplished Young Ladies as role models.

     
  2. Hannah

    October 24, 2011 at 4:22 pm

    I’m honored to be on such a list.

     
    • Christina

      October 24, 2011 at 5:03 pm

      We’re honored to know you,

       

Leave a Reply

 
