RSS

Did I miss something?

27 Oct

I watched an episode of The Big Bang Theory the same night I read Part II chapter 12, (chpt 35).  When I finished the chapter, I found myself quoting Sheldon. 

“That’s not an apology, simply an acknowledgement that I was right.”

This chapter is the one that contains Darcy’s letter to Elizabeth.  After he explains his part in Bingley and Jane’s break-up, he says, “On this subject, I have nothing more to say, no other apology to offer.”

Explaning his actions was an admission of guilt, not an apology.

Did he ever say he was sorry for meddling?

Oh, wait!  I get it.  In this case, Darcy’s using the other definition of apology: “a formal jusitification or defense.”  Ahhh, so that’s what he was doing. 

Now that sounds more Darcy-esque to me.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on October 27, 2011 in Pride and Prejudice

 

Tags: , , ,

3 responses to “Did I miss something?

  1. Christina

    October 27, 2011 at 6:05 pm

    This also caught my attention. I was rather surprised by the whole thing. I assumed he was going to have some completely reasonable explanation for the whole thing that would make it okay. And yet, it seems like Elizabeth is okay with it, which I guess I don’t get. Maybe she’s just happy that he’s calling a thing what it is instead of trying to romanticize her family into something they’re not. I don’t know, it all seems a little unresolved to me yet.

     
  2. Amy

    October 27, 2011 at 7:58 pm

    I’ve wondered this too.
    But instead than saying anything intelligent about it, I am just going to say how much I love the fact that you quoted Sheldon from Big Bang Theory and related it to Pride and Prejudice. It made my day. 🙂

     
    • Christine

      November 7, 2011 at 7:03 am

      I shall continue in my studies of both P&P and BBT in order to bring you felicity.

       

Leave a Reply

 
