RSS

Field Trip Find

05 Nov

As a child I went on very few field trips.  But those days when we got to go into town and tour the jail, or the feed store, or somewhere equally exciting, were favorites from my one-room schoolhouse years.

So, even though my children are homeschooled it’s important to me that they get the chance to see the inside of a jail, um, I mean go on field trips.  And last month our homeschool group had one of those great opportunities, we went back in time to Charlton Park.

While the children were getting the new experience of sitting in an old classroom Jeannette and I were pacing the back of the room trying to keep my twins occupied.  In between shushing my daughter, and snapping pictures of my boys writing on slates what should I spy? The two rows of books that were the school’s modest library and in them, this surprise:

Jeannette was also excited by the find, even if my son was not.

We plopped that dusty tome down on the back of one of the old fashioned desks,

and began our examination of the classic.

This wasn’t just any old copy of Bunyan’s most famous work.  No, this was the Superfine Edition.

It had both parts (the journey’s of Christian and Christiana,) the iconic drawing of Bunyan,

and peaking behind that protective tissue paper was even a color illustration.

The index promised more color illustrations, but we couldn’t find them.  There were, however, these beautifully detailed woodcuts,

Just look at the action in these shots.  Now those are some lions to be reckoned with.

There was even a bonus poem that was new to us.

We could never find a date on the volume, but it did have this beautiful presentation page:

and the fill-in-the-blank year gave us the impression it was pretty old.

This month the field trip is to the Grand Rapids Trash and Recycling Center.  I can’t imagine what will be found there.  But if a copy of Gulliver’s Travels with my name in it shows up, I plead the fifth.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on November 5, 2011 in Pilgrim's Progress

 

Tags: , , ,

4 responses to “Field Trip Find

  1. Jeannette

    November 6, 2011 at 3:17 pm

    I’m so glad you posted about this! Christine, we were just bummed that you weren’t there to experience it with us. We figured this was reason enough for you to home school. 🙂

     
    • Christine

      November 7, 2011 at 9:47 am

      I’ll just live vicarously through your adventures! 😉

       

Leave a Reply

 
