RSS

Zing!

08 Nov

Chapter 52 has Lydia and Wickham visiting Longbourn after their hasty marriage.  Lydia has plans to attend balls at Newcastle that winter.  She wants her family to come.  She even offers to help her sisters find spouses.

Lydia– “And then when you go away, you may leave one or two of my sisters behind you; and I dare say I shall get husbands for them before the winter is over.”

Elizabeth– “I thank you for my share of the favour,” said Elizabeth; “but I do not particularly like your way of getting husbands.”

Zing!  Ouch!  That one stung. 

(Not that it wasn’t deserved.)

 
1 Comment

Posted by on November 8, 2011 in Pride and Prejudice

 

Tags: , , ,

One response to “Zing!

  1. Jeannette

    November 10, 2011 at 11:25 am

    I, too, marked this quote as a “zinger.” The sad part is, knowing Lydia, she probably didn’t even listen or comprehend the insult.

     

Leave a Reply

 
