RSS

Oliver’s Sequel

05 Dec

I drug took my children to a resale shop after school last week.  I had seen that this particular store was having a 50% off sale on all books.  Now this DIY master’s degree that I’m working toward through the WEM program is cheap on tuition but costly on books.  Have I mentioned that I have to read over thirty novels?  Because of this I am always on the lookout for used classics.  In fact I carry a list of needed titles in my purse.  Truth be told, I even have lists for my co-bloggers as well.  What can I say?  We’re frugal gals.

Now let me paint the picture.  My three children are seated in the book section of the store.  They are occupied with swiveling office chairs (“Mom!  These chairs are for sale!”) and a few Christmas books that were set out on a table.  I am scanning titles as quickly as I can, wondering why no one parts with his copy of Moby Dick or Anna Karenina

As I was promising for the second time that I was almost done, my middle child interrupted,

“Mom!  Come look!  I found Oliver Stone.  I think that’s the sequel to Oliver Twist!”

Oh, buddy.  Ummm,  no.  But thanks for trying to help.  

I guess this sometimes happens when you expose your children to great works of literature.

PS.  I was able to score two copies of Conrad’s Heart of Darkness and two copies of Hardy’s The Return of the Native for 50 cents each!

PPS.  Anyone out there need seven copies of The Scarlet Letter?  I know where you can find them.

PPPS.  I also found a children’s version of a classic we’ve already read.  I’ll share it with you tomorrow. 
         Any guesses as to what it is?

 
2 Comments

Posted by on December 5, 2011 in Oliver Twist, The Blog, Well-Educated Mind

 

Tags: , , , , ,

2 responses to “Oliver’s Sequel

  1. Christina

    December 5, 2011 at 11:03 am

    DIY Master’s Degree. *snort*

     

Leave a Reply

 
