RSS

Reader, heed thyself.

13 Dec

I’m finished with Oliver Twist.  Speedy, eh?  Not so much, I just like a story with a happy ending, and since I don’t really know how Dickens plans to end his tale (I know, I may be the only person in the universe who hasn’t seen the musical or movie) I’ve decided to quit reading in a place where life is peachy-keen for our main character.  So here’s how Chapter XXXII wraps up in my book:

It seemed like a good idea.  Oliver is happily residing with two lovely ladies, who care deeply for him.  There are no lies floating about, or dangers in the air.  Just mutual respect, gratitude, and love.  Dickens calls it “true felicity.”  I call it, The End.

But, I just hope that maybe some future reader will see my directive and heed the advice.  However, I couldn’t leave well enough alone.  And sure enough, just a measly two chapters later Fagin and Monks are peaking in the window, spying on Oliver’s mid-study nap.

Which led to this book addition:

See, I told myself, so.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on December 13, 2011 in Oliver Twist

 

Tags: , , , , ,

3 responses to “Reader, heed thyself.

  1. Christine

    December 14, 2011 at 7:09 am

    I don’t know how the story will end either, so I’ll join your club and stop at XXXII. Yea! Now that we’re done, we can celebrate (best part of this reading program) and start on the next book. What’s that? The next book is about an orphan?!

    oh, nevermind…I’ll just finish Oliver…

     
    • Christina

      December 14, 2011 at 8:32 am

      Oh man. Now I’m double bummed. I did not know that. Sometimes ignorance is bliss. Jane Eyre just sounds, so, well, about as descriptive as Oliver Twist, I guess.

       

Leave a Reply

 
