RSS

Parlez vous Francais?

25 Jan

I’ve had a couple of high school flashbacks on our WEM journey so far.  For instance, when we read Gulliver’s Travels at dear ol’ AHS Mr. Fong made write our own satire as an accompanying project.  I just didn’t get it.  It seemed that just when things were starting to get satirical that I was saying the opposite of what I really meant, which was the point, or was it?  It was just a few too many turns around the reverse psychology carousel for this dizzy rider.

Jane Eyre has been giving me a real doozy of a flashback.  That sweet little Adèle is from Paris.  France.  Where they speak French.  A lot.  I suppose Brontë would expect that most of her readers would be well educated enough to traverse the simple conversations of a Parisian seven-year-old.  But obviously Miss Brontë did not attend the same high school as me.

I took French.  In fact, I took two years of French.  I had the sweetest teacher.  He was very kind.  He taught us many things.  He taught us how to make crêpes, and croque-monsieur.  In French 2 I learned advanced lessons about first degree burns, but those were taught by one of my classmates after setting her hands on fire with rubber cement while our teacher was down chatting with the librarian.

What I did not learn was French.  Not even enough to translate childhood prattle.  So, could someone please tell me if anything Adèle says is of importance.  In the time being I’m just going to take my husbands attitude to heart, “Oh look – another paragraph I don’t have to read!”

 
4 Comments

Posted by on January 25, 2012 in Jane Eyre

 

Tags: , ,

4 responses to “Parlez vous Francais?

  1. FrenchNad

    January 25, 2012 at 5:17 pm

    Too bad French class did not teach you French, dear Christina… The best language learning is done on your own anyway, cheers!

     
    • Christina

      January 25, 2012 at 8:05 pm

      Thank you for your sympathy and encouragement. Maybe when this whole reading the classics thing is over I can pick up a foreign language.

       
  2. Christine

    January 26, 2012 at 6:36 am

    Did anyone else notice that the child is called Adela at first and then Adele? Perhaps it’s a nickname thing. I had flashbacks of Monks/Monk/The Monk.

     
    • Christina

      January 26, 2012 at 9:43 am

      I assumed, but obviously could be wrong, that the times it was spelled Adela were the times that Mrs. Fairfax was referring to her and prior to Jane realizing she was from France. Therefore, what she wrote was an Englishified pronunciation that she heard.

      But this also brings up this question: Have you asked Amanda about the source of her daughter’s name? I’m curious.

       

Leave a Reply

 
