RSS

“But, but, but . . .”

28 Jan

opprobrium – n. public disgrace that follows conduct considered to be vicious

Classic Usage:  Ten-year-old Jane is attacked by her cousin John and fights back.  She is punished.  He is not.  This is what she has to say about it, “. . .no one had reproved John for wantonly striking me; and because I had turned against him to avert farther irrational violence, I was loaded with general opprobrium.”

Classically Mad Usage:  This is definitely a word to teach my children.  Again, I suppose that they will be able to find contexts not all that different from the one Jane experienced.  I can hear it now, “Mom, your opprobrium towards me is out of line.  He started it!”

 
1 Comment

Posted by on January 28, 2012 in Jane Eyre

 

Tags: , , , , ,

One response to ““But, but, but . . .”

Leave a Reply

 
