RSS

All Thumbs, None of them Green

29 Jan

parterre – n. a formal garden constructed of beds with stone or hedge edgings.

Classic Usage:  In Chapter IV we learn a bit more about the character of Jane’s cousins.  Eliza is quite the entrepreneur and sells all products of her parterre to the gardener making a handsome profit.

Classically Mad Usage:  There is no usage here.  I’ll be glad if the one volunteer rhubarb plants we have between the railroad ties on the side of the house gives me enough for a pie.  I doubt my husband’s going to buy it when I start calling that area my parterre.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 29, 2012 in Jane Eyre

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “All Thumbs, None of them Green

Leave a Reply

 
