RSS

Maybe Should’ve Know This One

06 Feb

preternatural – n. something that is beyond or outside of the natural or normal

Classic Usage:  Well, Jane Eyre is a gothic romance, therefore the use of preternatural comes up to describe many of the spooky things we encounter along the way.  My first encounter with the word occurred in Chapter V as Jane makes the long, solo journey to Lowood.  She says, “I remember but little of the journey; I only know that the day seemed to me of a preternatural length, and that we appeared to travel over hundreds of miles of road.”

Classically Mad Usage:  Apparently, this is a common word and its absence in my daily discourse is preternatural.  I suspected this was the case, and then I read a book on knitting where the author uses it with preternatural frequency.  I suppose that if the word is common enough to be used in multiplicity regarding yarn humor it deserves a place in my lingo, even if it often feels preternatural to stick it in every sentence.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on February 6, 2012 in Jane Eyre

 

Tags: , , , , ,

One response to “Maybe Should’ve Know This One

Leave a Reply

 
