RSS

Cream and Sugar are Preferable

09 Feb

exigency:  n. urgent demand

Classic Usage:  Here’s the sentence where Jane describes the meager food and drink provided them while at Lowood, “Many a time I have shared between two claimants the precious morsel of brown bread distributed at tea-time; and after relinquishing to a third, half the contents of my mug of coffee, I have swallowed the remainder with an accompaniment of secret tears, forced from me by the exigency of hunger.”  Wow.

Classically Mad Usage:  I’m too stunned by the severity of Jane’s hunger, the parallels to Oliver Twist, and Brontë’s beautiful writing to do much with the vocab. I am feeling an exigency to feed my children an extra helping of bread for lunch.  I might pass on offering them coffee, however.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on February 9, 2012 in Jane Eyre

 

Tags: , , , ,

One response to “Cream and Sugar are Preferable

  1. Jeannette

    February 10, 2012 at 8:29 am

    OK – this is really my attempt at levity given the sadness of the first 1/3 of this novel, but I plan to use this word “thusly:”

    I find myself possessed with an exigency for chocolate.

     

Leave a Reply

 
