RSS

A Week, or Two, in Review

11 Feb

Speak up, don’t be poltroonly, surely you have not been met with animadversions and opprobrium from your friends as your exigency to use your newly expanded vocabulary made them cavillers who would rather walk in preternaturally cold parterres and acquire chilblains due to penurious winter clothing than learn a a new word or two.

Your turn.

No, seriously, friends.  Here are the nine words to put into a sentence of your own:
poltroon
animadversions
opprobrium
exigency
caviller
preternatural
parterre
penurious
chilblains

 
3 Comments

Posted by on February 11, 2012 in Jane Eyre

 

Tags: , , ,

3 responses to “A Week, or Two, in Review

  1. Christine

    February 12, 2012 at 10:20 pm

    I won’t be a poltroon in regards to starting our new novel. Although I am skipping all reviews to avoid animadversions. Some people have a preternatural exigency to make readers of The Scarlet Letter suffer opprobrium. I will not listen to cavillers who sit in their parterres and think of mean things to say about Mr. Hawthorne. No, I will let the classic speak for itself. I just hope my penurious purchase of a used copy of the title does not result in my contracting chillblains. After all, my book does have a copyright date of 1986.

     
    • Christina

      February 13, 2012 at 9:10 pm

      A+

       
      • Christine

        February 14, 2012 at 7:10 am

        I didn’t follow the instructions exactly. It’s really a paragraph instead of a single sentence. My spouse told me to remove the end punctuation and just sprinkle in colons and semicolons a la Bronte.

         

Leave a Reply

 
