RSS

Russell the Perfidious

14 Feb

perfidious:  \pro-nun-ci-a-tions-are-too-hard\  adj.  untrustworthy, disloyal, deceitful

Classical Usage:  The definition above could simply read, “Mrs. Reed.”   Jane remembers, “the perfidious hints given by Mrs. Reed about my disposition . . .”

Classically Mad Usage:  This word could really beef up my incessant jabber about reality TV.  Tomorrow night begins a new season of Survivor, and I can’t wait to find out who will be the perfidious player I love to hate.  Can you?

 
3 Comments

Posted by on February 14, 2012 in Jane Eyre

 

Tags: , , , , ,

3 responses to “Russell the Perfidious

  1. Christine

    February 14, 2012 at 8:57 am

    The pronunciation cracked me up! And now I’ll be humming Glenn Miller’s “Perfidia” for the rest of the day.

     
    • Christina

      February 14, 2012 at 12:34 pm

      I was not familiar with that tune, where have I been? I’m learning so much.

       

Leave a Reply

 
