RSS

Won’t Accept No for an Answer!

21 Feb

During a recent run with Christina, I had a realization that almost stopped me in my tracks.  Mr. Collins of Pride and Prejudice and St. John Rivers of Jane Eyre are the same person!

No!  It’s true!  Hear me out.  Both men propose repeatedly.  Both men ignore the refusals of the women they ask.  Both men are ministers.  Both men are cousins of the woman they want to marry.  Both men are clueless about courting.  Both men want to marry because it’s the “right thing to do” in their situation.  Both men are not in love.   Both men are incredibly focused.  (Granted Collins’ focus is mostly on his patron Lady Catherine while St. John Rivers’ focus is on his upcoming mission trip and ministry.)

See?  The same person.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on February 21, 2012 in Jane Eyre, Pride and Prejudice

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Won’t Accept No for an Answer!

  1. Adriana @ Classical Quest

    February 21, 2012 at 7:46 am

    Friends running together, discussing great literature — sounds wonderful!

    And yes, I do think you’re on to something there.

     
    • Christine

      February 21, 2012 at 11:52 am

      Yes, I’m grateful for my friends that keep me accountable for my pages read and my miles run.

      And thanks!

       
  2. Jeannette

    February 21, 2012 at 11:22 am

    Truly amazing similarities. It almost makes you wonder if Bronte “borrowed” a bit from Austen.

     

Leave a Reply

 
