RSS

“The Sound of Music” starring Jane Eyre

22 Feb

Chapter 37

Mr. Rochester has proposed.  Jane has accepted.

‘Oh! my darling!  God bless you and reward you!’

‘Mr Rochester, if ever I did a good deed in my life–if ever I thought a good thought–if ever I prayed a sincere and blameless prayer–if ever I wished a righteous wish–I am rewarded now.  To be your wife is, for me, to be as happy as I can be on earth.’

And then Jane breaks out into song.

“Something Good

Jane/Maria:  Perhaps I had a wicked childhood
                     Perhaps I had a miserable youth 
                     But somewhere in my wicked, miserable past
                     There must have been a moment of truth
                     For here you are, standing there, loving me 
                     Whether or not you should
                     So somewhere in my youth or childhood
                     I must have done something good

                    Nothing comes from nothing
                    Nothing ever could
                    So somewhere in my youth or childhood 
                    I must have done something good

Rochester/The Captain: For here you are, standing there, loving me
                                       Whether or not you should

Jane/Maria: So somewhere in my youth or childhood
                    I must have done something good

Both: Nothing comes from nothing
Nothing ever could

Jane/Maria: So somewhere in my youth

Rochester/the Captain: Or childhood

Jane/Maria: I must have done something . . .

Both:  Something good

Now that you are singing along with me, consider the parallels between the two stories.
Maria was a governess that fell in love with her employer.  Jane was a governess that fell in love with Her employer.  The Captain was a wealthy man with a grim personality.  Rochester was a wealthy man with a grim personality. The Captain was engaged to the Baroness.  Rochester was engaged to Miss Ingram.  There were nazis in “The Sound of Music”.  There was an insane wife in Jane Eyre.
Oh, the similarities are mind-blowing!

PS–The writer of this post in no way supports or condones the incorrect themes of the song and the novel which infer that blessings from God are only given conditionally upon the individual’s good behavior.

The writer of this post was continually reminded of Martin Luther’s explanation of the First Article of the Apostle’s Creed. The meaning for this article lists all the blessings God gives to man.  The conclusion of the “What does this mean?” section explains why God acts as a Father to His children.  It says:

and all this purely out of fatherly, divine goodness and mercy, without any merit or worthiness in me;

Novice nun Maria should have remembered these Scripture verses and Jane surely heard her reverend- cousin St. John read them aloud:

Psalm 103:13 As a father shows compassion to his children, so the LORD shows compassion to those who fear him.

Matthew 5:45b for he makes his sun rise on the evil and on the good, and sends rain on the just and on the unjust.

God as a loving Father cares for all of His children. He bestows blessings because He is merciful.  The Lutheran Study Bible ESV says in its footnote for the Matthew passage: “Examples from nature demonstrate that God has mercy on all.”

Yeah, Come on, Maria and Jane.  God generously blesses us because He is good, not because we are good.

Now you may return to your singing of “The Sound of Music”.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on February 22, 2012 in Jane Eyre

 

Tags: , , , , ,

5 responses to ““The Sound of Music” starring Jane Eyre

  1. Adriana @ Classical Quest

    February 22, 2012 at 2:28 pm

    Rich post. So so true about God’s mercy. Thank you for sharing those thoughts.

    Now I’m gonna have to go turn on “The Sound of Music”. I like to clean my house with it playing.

    You know the end of that scene when they kiss and we see their faces in silhouette? When we were kids, my sister and I used to pause it there and laugh ourselves to tears because we thought they looked like aliens. We would make loud slurping sounds. I still can’t watch that scene without laughing!

     
    • Christine

      February 23, 2012 at 9:16 am

      Thanks!

       
  2. Jeannette

    February 22, 2012 at 8:51 pm

    I always had similar thoughts about that song. Even before I understood it, really. Something about it always bothered me. However, that didn’t stop my enjoyment of the Sound of Music! I also enjoy cleaning to it, Adriana. Nice to read your comments, by the way. Thanks for joining in.

     
  3. Christina

    February 22, 2012 at 10:06 pm

    I’ll have to forward this post to my Dad, who said something like, “Such a beautiful song, too bad it’s heretical” every, single time we watched the musical.

    Now he’ll have yet another excuse not to read Jane Eyre.

     
    • Christine

      February 23, 2012 at 9:13 am

      Ack! Don’t send him the post. Jane Eyre is worth the read even with the heresy.

       

Leave a Reply

 
