RSS

Which Jane Should I Choose?

26 Feb

The reading has been completed.  The questions have been answered.  The cake has been eaten.  Now, I want to watch a movie version of Jane Eyre.

But which one?

I started to make a library hold but was overwhelmed with the choices.

There’s this 2011 version.

And this one is from Masterpiece Theater.

This one has Timothy Dalton (James Bond).  I bet he makes a great Rochester.

Orson Wells?  I’m intrigued.

George C Scott?

And a BBC version!  One can’t go wrong with the BBC.

My quick search on amazon showed even more film versions of the classic novel.

Help me out readers.  Which movie version of Jane Eyre is the one I should watch?

 
12 Comments

Posted by on February 26, 2012 in Jane Eyre

 

Tags: ,

12 responses to “Which Jane Should I Choose?

  1. Christina Joy

    February 26, 2012 at 7:06 am

    Wow. I had no idea. Jer and I watched the 2011 version last night and enjoyed it very much. Jane wasn’t too pretty, Rochester drew me in, the dialog remained faithful to the book, and the romance was, well romantic. Oh, and you’ll like this – it had no conclusion.

    It’s ours until next Saturday, so you’re welcome to borrow it.

     
    • Christine

      February 27, 2012 at 8:43 am

      no conclusion? I’m in.

       
  2. Melody

    February 26, 2012 at 10:59 am

    I liked George C. Scott. On the other hand, there is great merit in doing an in-depth study of all of them. 😉

     
    • Christina Joy

      February 26, 2012 at 12:36 pm

      This is a brilliant plan. All in the name of self-education, of course.

       
    • Christine

      February 27, 2012 at 8:43 am

      Thanks, Melody! I’ll put that one on my library hold list.

       
  3. Jeannette

    February 26, 2012 at 3:22 pm

    I’ve seen the Masterpiece Theater version years ago, but I would love to watch the 2011 version this week as well, since you have it so handy. 🙂 And, we will be seeing each other on Monday, Wednesday, Thursday, and Saturday, so maybe we can switch it around our group. How about you bring it to me tomorrow, Christina, and I’ll give it to Christine on Wednesday?

     
    • Christina Joy

      February 26, 2012 at 8:23 pm

      It’s a deal. I’ll put it in my purse now. Remind me in the morning.

       
  4. Tonia

    February 26, 2012 at 7:15 pm

    I found the Timothy Dalton version to be most true to the book (I’ve never seen any of the older versions) but I did enjoy the Masterpiece Theater version (Toby Stephens was a great Rochester). I’m reading through the Well-Educated Mind book list as well – it’s so nice to find fellow readers! I just finished The Scarlet Letter and I’m ready to jump into Moby Dick soon.

     
    • Christine

      February 27, 2012 at 8:45 am

      Howdy, Tonia! I put the TImothy Dalton version on my library hold list as well. It’s great to meet another “student” in the WEM journey.

       

Leave a Reply

 
