RSS

Doorway to the Soul

27 Feb

I’m starting to feel smart, aren’t you?  You know that great rush when your’e reading along and then, BOOM!  Out of nowhere is a reference to another piece of literature, and you get it!?!

It just happened, my friends.  Hawthorne was describing the despicable character of Roger Chillingworth with this sentence,

Sometimes, a light glimmered out of the physician’s eyes, burning blue and ominous, like the reflection of a furnace, or, let us say, like one of those gleams of ghastly fire that darted from Bunyan’s awful doorway in the hill-side, and quivered on the pilgrim’s face.

Oh yes, the Pilgrim’s Progress passageway to hell for hypocrites and traitors, the reference made sense to me without the aid of an end-note!  Hoorah!  This DIY Master’s is really working.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on February 27, 2012 in Pilgrim's Progress, The Scarlet Letter

 

Tags: , , , ,

7 responses to “Doorway to the Soul

  1. Adriana @ Classical Quest

    February 27, 2012 at 11:40 pm

    This happened to me when I was going through the WEM auto-biography list.

    In his Essays, Montaigne made a comment about Augustine which indicated that he did not know that Augustine had a son. I knew Augustine had a son because I had read Augustine’s Confessions.

    Then I read the footnote. It said that Montaigne had probably not read Confessions because if he had he would have known about his son.

    I did feel smart for a moment — and the feeling was nice while it lasted!

     
    • Christina Joy

      February 28, 2012 at 11:01 am

      Smarter than Montaigne. If I were you, I’d probably start using that as my signature line.

       
  2. Tonia

    February 28, 2012 at 11:37 am

    I had the same thing happen, at the same exact spot! I felt like cheering – I actually understood a reference to another novel. Happy day! 😉

     
    • Christina Joy

      February 28, 2012 at 12:47 pm

      Hip, hip, hooray! I’ll cheer for you!

       
  3. Christine

    March 1, 2012 at 6:48 pm

    I am loving how there seems to be a thread connecting many of these books: just a little tie in here and there. Just wait until we read a little farther on the list. Oh, we’re going to be so smart.

     

Leave a Reply

 
