RSS

Dudgeon Dungeon

28 Feb

dudgeon – n. a sullen, angry and indignant mood

Classical Usage:  Rochester loves Jane.  Jane refuses to be his mistress while he has a living wife.  They have quite a heated chapter of discussion.  It ends like this, “From less to more, I worked him up to considerable irritation; then, after he had retired, in dudgeon, quite to the other end of the room, I got up, and saying, ‘I wish you good-night, sir,’ in my natural and wonted respectful manner, I slipped out by the side-door and got away.”

Classically Mad Usage:  Some days I am in quite a dudgeon, reading the fantastic posts and comments by friends always makes me happy.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on February 28, 2012 in Jane Eyre

 

Tags: , ,

One response to “Dudgeon Dungeon

Leave a Reply

 
