RSS

Jane, Oliver, and My Boys

29 Feb

inanition – n. exhaustion caused by lack of food and drink

Classical Usage:  The day after her would-be wedding day Jane finally awakes.  The unexpected turn of events and lengthy talks of the previous night left her without regular meals, and emotionally drained.  “My head swam as I stood erect.  I perceived that I was sickening from excitement and inanition; neither meat nor drink had passed my lips that day, for I had taken no breakfast.”

Classically Mad Usage:  My children frequently suffer from inanition, especially when it’s time to pick up toys, recite the preposition list, and put on socks.  If I would only feed them a snack all of these tasks could be accomplished with vigor.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on February 29, 2012 in Jane Eyre

 

Tags: , , ,

One response to “Jane, Oliver, and My Boys

Leave a Reply

 
