RSS

Warning: Do not read while operating heavy machinery.

01 Mar

syncope – n. sudden loss of consciousness

Classic Usage:  Jane dreams about the night when as a child in the Reed’s home she was locked in the Red Room, saw a light and fainted.  “The light that long ago had struck me into syncope, recalled in this vision, seemed glidingly to mount the wall, and tremblingly to pause in the centre of the obscured ceiling.”

Classically Mad Usage:  I’m going to tell you a secret.  I’ve really enjoyed the last four books we’ve read, but I’m very worried that when I pick up Moby Dick I will be struck by boredom induced syncope.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on March 1, 2012 in Jane Eyre

 

Tags: , , ,

6 responses to “Warning: Do not read while operating heavy machinery.

  1. Adriana @ Classical Quest

    March 1, 2012 at 9:32 am

    I know what you mean. I just started reading a book called, “Why Read Moby Dick?”
    When you have to read a book to motivate you to read a book what exactly does that mean?
    Maybe MD will be a delightful surprise- a real (I want to say “reel”- the nautical puns have just been flowing lately.) page turner.

    It’s been called “the greatest American novel ever written”. I guess I must find out if there’s any truth to that. I currently think To Kill a Mockingbird is the greatest, but maybe I haven’t read enough to know.

     
  2. Christina Joy

    March 1, 2012 at 1:59 pm

    Ooh, I’ll be putting that on hold now. I need all the motivation I can get. I can’t seem to shake this sense of impending doom about MD. Maybe it’s sea-sickness.

     
  3. Adriana @ Classical Quest

    March 7, 2012 at 5:33 am

    Ladies, read this — it’s about MD:

    http://carolhomeschool2.blogspot.com/2012/03/52-book-in-52-weeks-week-10-why-read.html

    I like the part about how it’s better to wait until you’ve had some life experience to read MD.
    I am actually getting excited about going whaling. Can’t believe I’m saying this.

     
    • Christine

      March 7, 2012 at 11:06 am

      Someone actually completed the WEM list! It can be done!
      I’m still nervous about MD. Don Quixote was supposed to be like the Spanish Bible, right? And Moby Dick is the American one? I think I’m going to be in trouble.

       
      • Adriana @ Classical Quest

        March 8, 2012 at 9:06 am

        Yes, Carol completed the WEM list in 9 years.
        She has also read a ton more. Her list is mesmerizing!

         

Leave a Reply

 
