RSS

In Elysium there is no beer, that’s why we drink it here.

04 Mar

elysium –  n. state of perfect happiness

Classic Usage:  After describing St. John’s sermonizing Jane has this to say, “I was sure St John Rivers – pure-lived, conscientious, zealous as he was – had not yet found that peace of God which passeth all understanding: he had no more found it, I thought, than had I with my concealed and racking regrets for my broken idol and lost elysiumregrets to which I have latterly avoided referring, but which possessed me and tyrannised over me ruthlessly.

Classically Mad Usage:  This might be an argument for reading the pre-novel works first.  Had I read more Greek mythology I probably would have known that the Elysium Fields were the dwelling place for the blessed after death.  Although, “Elysium is a wonderful place, filled with glory and grace . . . I wanna go there!” just doesn’t have the same ring.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on March 4, 2012 in Jane Eyre

 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “In Elysium there is no beer, that’s why we drink it here.

Leave a Reply

 
