RSS

If Dimmesdale were my Pastor . . .

13 Mar

I would be greatly dismayed.

Not just for the reason you might imagine, though.  Here’s a snippet from Chapter XVII where Dimmesdale talks about his position as a Shepherd of Souls,

And as for the people’s reverence, would that it were turned to scorn and hatred!  Canst thou deem it, Hester, a consolation, that I must stand up in my pulpit, and meet so many eyes turned upward to my face, as if the light of heaven were beaming from it! – must see my flock hungry for the truth, and listening to my words as if a tongue of Penetecost were speaking! – and then look inward, and discern the black reality of what they idolize?  I have laughed, in bitterness and agony of heart, at the contrast between what I seem and what I am!  And Satan laughs at it!

Do you know what my Pastors say every week?

I, a poor miserable sinner . . .

Quite a difference from the picture of sanctification that Dimmesdale has become for his parishoners.

I know that, like me, my Pastors have violated God’s law.  They admit it at the rail, preach it from the pulpit, and serve earthly consequences on a daily basis.  But, it doesn’t end there.  They also trust in God’s forgiveness received at the rail, heard from the pulpit, and delivered daily in the remembrance of their baptisms.  It is this same forgiveness in which my own bitter and agonized heart rests.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on March 13, 2012 in The Scarlet Letter

 

Tags: , , , , ,

One response to “If Dimmesdale were my Pastor . . .

  1. Adriana @ Classical Quest

    March 13, 2012 at 2:52 pm

    Beautiful words Christina.

    I agree with you about Dimmesdale. His excuse for silence about his sin really bugged me — as if God could not get by without his flawless reputation! Such arrogance.

     

Leave a Reply

 
