RSS

Great Illustrated Melville

23 Mar

Look what I have!

When I first started Moby-Dick, I thought I might need a little help, so I went right to my children’s school library where I found the Great Illustrated Classics version.  Ismael quickly drew me in and before I knew it, I had read several chapters.

But since this is a DIY master’s class, I figured an abridged version might not make the cut.  I’m back to reading the real deal and enjoying it so far.  Although I’m kind of missing the illustrations.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on March 23, 2012 in Moby-Dick

 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “Great Illustrated Melville

  1. Norma Carey

    March 24, 2012 at 2:18 pm

    Chapter 28 and I finally get to meet Captain Ahab – talk about the clever way the author builds suspense! Ishmael’ first reaction…”foreboding shivers ran over me.” And that’s exactly the way I began to feel. What a compelling chapter of description and what a strange and complicated man. The scar that appears from his grey hairs, the bone leg, speaking not a word but yet at the end of the chapter, the faint blossom of a look, etc. Wow! Just think how much Melville wrote about one eerie captain!

     

Leave a Reply

 
