RSS

We End at the Very End Ending

26 Mar

escutcheon – n. emblem bearing a coat of arms

Classical Usage:  Here we are at the end of the book.  Our final image is of the tombstone that serves the graves of both lovers.  “There appeared the semblance of an engraved escutcheon.”  You know the rest, right? –  the “ever-glowing point of light gloomier than the shadow,” and the quote from Marvell’s “The Unfortunate Lover.” We haven’t talked about it here at the blog, so here’s your chance:  What do you make of this ending?

Classically Mad Usage:  I forego today’s usage of our final Classic Word from The Scarlet Letter, in order to open the question above.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on March 26, 2012 in The Scarlet Letter

 

Tags: , , , , ,

5 responses to “We End at the Very End Ending

  1. Adriana @ Classical Quest

    March 26, 2012 at 11:40 am

    I didn’t know what to make of the ending! I certainly didn’t know anything about Marvell’s “Unfortunate Lover”. My copy doesn’t have footnotes so I had to look up “gules”. It was perplexing!

     
    • Christina Joy

      March 26, 2012 at 12:28 pm

      Whew. I’m relieved to find I wasn’t the only one who closed the book and went, “Huh?” We did talk about it some at our wrap-up discussion, but I can’t seem to remember what Jeannette and Christine had to say about it. I’m sure it was brilliant, so I hope they weigh in.

       
  2. Adriana @ Classical Quest

    March 26, 2012 at 1:36 pm

    Yes. Christine and Jeannette — help please!

     
  3. Christine

    March 26, 2012 at 6:48 pm

    I read today’s classic word and my brain thought ears= eustachian. I’ll have to find my TSL book, ponder the ending, and get back to you.

     
  4. Jeannette

    March 27, 2012 at 3:01 pm

    I’ll save my thoughts for CJ’s wrap-up post upcoming.

     

Leave a Reply

 
