RSS

A Themed Wrap-up

28 Mar

You’ve all been extremely polite and quietly waited for me to post The Scarlet Letter wrap-up despite the fact that we set sail on Moby-Dick some time ago.  Today’s the day, so don your favorite monogram and let’s put this book to rest – at least for a little while.

rt

We began our day with a trip to a local gallery that was featuring original illustrations from novels by Charles Dickens.  The showing was part of the large 200th birthday celebration for Dickens that began in February.  We, of course, read Oliver Twist in 2011.

The engravings from Oliver Twist were mostly by the artist James Mahoney and were new to us since our editions all contained the Cruikshank works.  The display did contain his famous Sikes on the roof sketch.

My personal favorite of the collection was this:

The Bumble/Corney corny, bumbled romance was the highlight of the book for me.

Then there was this illustration:

It was titled:

And we still don’t know.  Do you?  The Artful Dodger?  A healthy, confident Oliver?  Oh well, next up, we enlisted the

 rmy

The Salvation kind, of course.  We took a little side-trip to do a bit of shopping.  It had nothing to do with classic literature.  I’m sorry I even brought it up.  On with our day:

ppetites

We had to sate them, so Panera Bread was our next stop. And after analyzing the Thai dressing, and yumminess of edamame we finally got to discussing The Scarlet Letter.

nswers

We did our best with Susan Wise Bauer’s WEM questions, Christine even had hers typed out.  We started first with our own titles for the book, then we moved on to the trickier question of what each character wanted.  My mind is completely stuck in a rut on this particular text and so my answer to every question was:

bsolution

I know there is more to the book than that, and that my fellow readers had better answers, but I made the huge mistake of not writing them down, so now I seek the above for my self-centered forgetfulness.

stute Observation

The highlight of the dicussion was this beautiful literary structure that Jeannette pointed out.  Let me see if I can do it justice with a little diagram:And just look at what happens when you flip that on it’s end:

Clever, eh?  Or should I say,

Clever, ?


 
3 Comments

Posted by on March 28, 2012 in Oliver Twist, The Scarlet Letter

 

Tags: , , , ,

3 responses to “A Themed Wrap-up

  1. Adriana @ Classical Quest

    March 28, 2012 at 8:03 am

    Standing ovation ladies!!!

    Wish I could have been there.

    That diagram is just too good!

     
  2. Christina Joy

    March 28, 2012 at 10:35 am

    The diagram was even more impressive when I had arrows that connected the levels and made the cross-bar for the A, but I couldn’t get them to stay in my jpg so I finally just quit. Hoorah for not succumbing to perfectionism!

     
  3. Jeannette

    March 28, 2012 at 11:57 am

    Wow – that’s so cool! Love the wrap-up, Christina.

     

Leave a Reply

 
