RSS

Coated in Layers of Meaning

30 Mar

grego – n. wrapall
wrapall – n.  dreadnaught
dreadnaught – n. grego

Classical Usage:  Gladly the context here is pretty clear in letting us know that Queequeg was reaching into his coat, “Going to his heavy grego, or wrapall, or dreadnaught, which he had previously hung on a chair, he fumbled in the pockets . . .”

Classically Mad Usage:  I dislike reusing words, so this will great when I have to remind my children endless times.  “Boys, please hang up your gregos.”  A minute passes.  “Hey kids, have you put your wrapalls in the closet yet?”  Crickets chirping.  “Children!!  Take care of your dreadnaughts before you wish you had naught a thing to dread.”

 
5 Comments

Posted by on March 30, 2012 in Moby-Dick

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

5 responses to “Coated in Layers of Meaning

  1. Adriana @ Classical Quest

    March 30, 2012 at 8:16 am

    Poor kids.

     
  2. Jeannette

    March 30, 2012 at 8:34 am

    Oh, My. Which of your bairns will grow up to be as witty as you?

     
  3. Adriana @ Classical Quest

    March 30, 2012 at 3:00 pm

    Seriously. Christina, my kids came running into the office this morning to see what I was laughing about.

    Your Classically Mad Usage is really helping me increase my vocabulary. I recently used preternatural in a casual conversation. My sleep-deprived brain is retaining far more than it would without your help. Thank you!!

    Oh – and good parenting advice too.

     
  4. Christina Joy

    March 30, 2012 at 3:48 pm

    Well, my gossips, it’s like this: Sometimes the bairn act so contumaciously I find myself in a state of dudgeon, with a bad case of hypos and it seems I will either explode in ebullitions or worse, fall into torpor. I know I must stifle my choler, and ignore their cachinations so instead I channel it into these lucubrations. It’s a much healthier alternative to taking a paramour or investing in plastic chirurgical procedures, right?

     
    • Christine

      March 30, 2012 at 4:37 pm

      You win. And this is why I’m afraid of the hebdomadal review.

       

Leave a Reply

 
