RSS

Favorite Quotes from Melville

09 Apr

I have a whole list of favorite quotes from Melville.  Some are funny, some are thought-provoking, some are shocking.   I thought it would be fun to start a list of our own here.   I’ll start you out with the first one I marked – way back on page 84.  (Seems like eons ago!)

“…Heaven have mercy on us all – Presbyterians (I might substitute “Lutherans,” but that would lack alliteration, which Melville is so fond of.) – and Pagans alike – for we are all somehow dreadfully cracked about the head and sadly need mending.”

Or how about this one from page 123:

“Think Not is my eleventh commandment; and sleep when you can, is my twelfth.”  (I’m especially partial to Commandment 12.)

What are some of your favorites?   Please comment!

 
7 Comments

Posted by on April 9, 2012 in Moby-Dick, The Blog

 

Tags:

7 responses to “Favorite Quotes from Melville

  1. Christina Joy

    April 10, 2012 at 8:21 pm

    The commandment one is definitely one of mine. I’ll post about my all time favorite quote in a little while, but I’ll give you a hint: the cook says it.

     
    • Adriana @ Classical Quest

      April 11, 2012 at 3:27 pm

      Is it something the cook says in his sermon to the sharks?

      I’m planning to add my favorite quotes later too. I may not have the time until tomorrow.

       
  2. Adriana @ Classical Quest

    April 12, 2012 at 11:59 pm

    “But come, it’s getting dreadful late, you had better be turning flukes – it’s a nice bed: Sal and me slept in that ere bed the night we were spliced.” – Landlord of the Spouter Inn, chapter 3

     
    • Jeannette

      April 13, 2012 at 7:29 am

      Good one! “spliced” – That’s so funny!

       
  3. Adriana @ Classical Quest

    April 13, 2012 at 7:38 am

    “Lost by a whale! Young man, come nearer to me: [Ahab’s leg] was devoured, chewed up, crunched by the monstrousest parmacetty that ever chipped a boat! – ah, ah!” — Captain Peleg, Chapter 16, “The Ship”

     
  4. Christine

    April 29, 2012 at 3:32 pm

    chapter 81 The Pequod Meets the Virgin: “Don’t be afraid, my butter-boxes,” cried Stubb, casting a passing glance upon them as he shot by; “ye’ll be picked up presently–all right–I saw some sharks astern–St. Bernard’s dogs, you know–relieve distressed travellers.”

     

Leave a Reply

 
