RSS

I Had Way Too Much Fun With This

13 Apr

In honor of National Scrabble Day (April 13th):

Thank you very much.

A few notes:

1.  This is one of my favorite games.

2.  That might just be a glass of chardonnay left over from Easter that you see in the picture.

3.  There are way too many “Q’s” in words found in Moby Dick.

4.  I realize that “Tashtego” and “Cetology” would be impossible plays in a real game of Scrabble, but I couldn’t resist.

5.  Go play some Scrabble with a friend.

 
14 Comments

Posted by on April 13, 2012 in Moby-Dick

 

Tags:

14 responses to “I Had Way Too Much Fun With This

  1. Adriana @ Classical Quest

    April 13, 2012 at 8:50 am

    Love it Jeannette!!

    National Scrabble Day — that IS a great reason to play my favorite game. Placing a word like “Cetology” would make my day:)

    This is memorable — thank you for sharing it!

     
  2. Christina Joy

    April 13, 2012 at 10:22 am

    I’m intimidated.

     
    • Adriana @ Classical Quest

      April 13, 2012 at 10:50 am

      Yeah, me too. Even though it’s my favorite game, I’m not very good at it — I would clearly be no competition for Jeannette.

       
  3. Jeannette

    April 13, 2012 at 12:13 pm

    Hey, you two – I was sitting at a table with a glass of wine, an open table of letters AND no competition. Not so hard. Now, tonight, when I WILL have competition, we will see how I fare. Somehow, I’m thinking it’ll be a tad harder.

     
  4. Jeannette

    April 13, 2012 at 12:47 pm

    Oh, and Christina’s hubby is super smart – I’m worried about him too. 🙂

     
  5. Erin

    April 13, 2012 at 4:34 pm

    Jeannette is the reigning Scrabble champion in our family. We play just to see if we can beat her. Don’t let her be modest! I can totally picture her placing “cetology” on the board even after a glass of chardonnay (or two). Gah! 🙂

     
  6. Jeannette

    April 13, 2012 at 8:58 pm

    Erin and Chris make for stiff competition – and I have the past scoreboards to prove it. Miss you, E! Thanks to Christina and Jerry for coming and playing with us tonight. The only Moby Dick-related word came from Christina – “Aye!”

     
  7. Christina Joy

    April 13, 2012 at 9:21 pm

    Jeannette left out the important part: She won this evening!! Thanks for hosting a lovely evening.

     
  8. Jan

    April 16, 2012 at 3:18 pm

    “Tashtego” and “Cetology” could be played in a regular game if the words “ash” or “log” had already been played. See how I think? Stupid, eh?

     
    • Christina Joy

      April 16, 2012 at 4:35 pm

      We definitely need to get you and Jeannette set up for a Scrabble evening, Mom. It could be intense.

       
    • Jeannette

      April 16, 2012 at 6:43 pm

      Nice Jan! Good catch. And not stupid at all! I’d love to play Scrabble with you – it’s a date for the next time you are in MI. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
