RSS

Triple Word Tyro

13 Apr

tyro – n. a beginner

Classic Usage:  Melville knew his audience, we’re just a bunch of whaling amateurs.  We can hardly argue with him when he labels us, “At any time it is a strange sight to the tyro to see with what wondrous habitude of unconscious skill the whaleman will maintain an erect posture in his boat . . . “

Classically Mad Usage:  Despite numerous online games of Lexulous with my mother, I’m afraid I will appear quite a tyro this evening while playing Scrabble with Jeannette.  I sure hope my new vocabulary knowledge helps me.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on April 13, 2012 in Moby-Dick

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “Triple Word Tyro

  1. Jeannette

    April 13, 2012 at 12:15 pm

    Lexulous? Sounds like a game I would like to know about!

     

Leave a Reply

 
