RSS

But I won’t let it happen again.

14 Apr

Those punctilious among you probably realized that we missed a Saturday post, but I don’t want to vitiate our Hebdomadal Review, plus, I’m no tyro at palavering, so I plan to use all the words, and I would rather pick through a calabash of scoria, or walk into a miasma than stultify the blog by letting the pre-Easter vocabulary be razeed.

 

 

I’m afraid we’re in for it this week, friends.  Here are the words from the last week and a moiety:
scoria
vitiated
punctilious
calabash
stultifying
palavering
razeed
miasma
tyro

 
7 Comments

Posted by on April 14, 2012 in Moby-Dick

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

7 responses to “But I won’t let it happen again.

  1. Adriana @ Classical Quest

    April 14, 2012 at 10:39 am

    I have wanted to join in on this exercise for a while now but I have been too timid. I’m merely a tyro, not one to be punctilious, and if I fall into palavering and prove myself to be stultifying – your lovely blog could be vitiatied by the miasma that may ensue!
    I would be calabashed over if you razeed my comments. I would rather sleep on a bed of scoria!

     
    • Christina Joy

      April 14, 2012 at 10:45 am

      Hoorah! Hoorah! Not only did you play, but you jumped in on an extra big word week! Nicely done! And trust me, your comments will never cause a miasma at this blog – we love them!

       
      • Adriana @ Classical Quest

        April 14, 2012 at 11:17 am

        Thank you Christina. That was scary.

         
      • Christina Joy

        April 14, 2012 at 11:48 am

        My personal favorite was your use of calabash.

         
  2. Jeannette

    April 14, 2012 at 3:43 pm

    Whew! This mishmosh of words is like a calabash full of scoria! The confusing miasma could prove to vitiate my former punctilious sentences and cause me instead to fall into the common tyro mistake of palavering thus stultifying me forever. Next time I think you should razee the moiety.

     
    • Christina Joy

      April 14, 2012 at 4:01 pm

      Razeeing the moiety would have been smart. Do we have a fancy word for smart? If so, I suppose I would have to earn it by using it.

       
  3. Jeannette

    April 14, 2012 at 5:48 pm

    I love how we just change the parts of speech willy-nilly. (Now THERE’S a fancy word for you – “willy-nilly.”) Smart: ingenious, shrewd, astute

     

Leave a Reply

 
