RSS

Whale Art

29 Apr

The lithograph whaling prints in my copy of Moby-Dick got me interested in other visual representations of Melville’s classic, including my last post about a pop-up version!

Today’s book isn’t found in the children’s section of the library.  It’s a grown-up book.  Moby-Dick in Pictures: One Drawing for Every Page by Matt Kish is an interesting take on The Whale.  Here’s part of Amazon’s description for Kish’s book:

Inspired by one of the world’s greatest novels, Ohio artist Matt Kish set out on an epic voyage of his own one day in August 2009. More than one hundred and fifty years following the original publication of Moby-Dick, Kish began illustrating Herman Melville’s classic, creating an image a day over the next eighteen months based on text selected from every page of the 552-page Signet Classics paperback edition.

This is Ishmael.   The text on the right says “1. Call me Ishmael.”

Here’s another peek.  I wanted you to get a glimpse of the white whale.

I won’t reprint the text for this drawing because I don’t want to ruin the story for anyone who hasn’t completed the book yet.  Here’s a hint though; that’s an angry fish mammal.

I can’t even imagine the commitment it took to complete this project.
And I thought reading Moby-Dick took determination.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on April 29, 2012 in Moby-Dick

 

Tags: , , ,

4 responses to “Whale Art

  1. Adriana @ Classical Quest

    April 29, 2012 at 12:46 pm

    Thanks for sharing this Christine.

    I read somewhere online recently about a guy who hand-typed the entire novel on toilet paper. Then he gingerly rolled it all back up into five or six rolls and tried to sell them on Ebay.

     
    • Christina Joy

      April 30, 2012 at 3:45 pm

      Oh! I saw a picture of that when I was googling some other MD image the other day. That’s going to a lot of work to make a statement, I think.

       
    • Christine

      May 1, 2012 at 7:48 am

      Oh, I hope no one bought it. I don’t think Ahab would have approved.

       
  2. Christina Joy

    April 30, 2012 at 3:49 pm

    I feel a 21st century art project coming on. Hmmmm . . .

     

Leave a Reply

 
