RSS

A Whaling Movie

01 May

“What I need is a good PBS special on whaling!  Something to help me understand what Melville is talking about…”  That’s what I said to anyone who would listen: my fellow bloggers, my spouse, the nice people at Target.  Okay, maybe not the people at Target, but if some shoppers at the chain asked me if I knew of a good documentary on whaling, I could tell them they should watch the movie I viewed today: Into the Deep: America, Whaling, & the World.

Do you need convincing to watch this DVD?

  • It was written and directed by Ric Burns.
  • American Experience PBS
  • Nathaniel Philbrick is one of the experts
  • interesting information on whales, whaling industry,The Essex, Melville, Moby-Dick,
    US economy,  US history

If I haven’t persuaded you yet, I’ll let you read this quote from the back of Into the Deep‘s DVD case.

At once a fantastic sea-adventure, a cautionary economic and environmental tale, and a mythic saga of man and nature, this thrilling, epic film tells the amazing story of three centuries of American whaling, interweaving along the way the riveting tale of the doomed whaleship Essex, which set wail from Nantucket in the summer of 1819, and the deeply moving story of a young Herman Melville–whose own real life and imaginative voyage into the deep would give rise to one of the greatest works of literature ever created by an American.

Friends, it was a good film.  So good (I can’t believe I’m saying this) that I need another book about whaling.  I put Philbrick’s book about the Essex on library hold.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on May 1, 2012 in Moby-Dick

 

Tags: , , ,

5 responses to “A Whaling Movie

  1. Adriana @ Classical Quest

    May 1, 2012 at 6:35 am

    Oh thank you Christine! I just put this on my Netflix queue.
    I watched The True Story of Moby-Dick a few weeks ago. (About the Essex) Sad, but interesting.

     
    • Christine

      May 1, 2012 at 7:47 am

      I hadn’t heard of “The True Story…” I’ll have to look for that one.

       
  2. Christina Joy

    May 1, 2012 at 11:06 am

    Woah, “another book about whaling.” That’s extreme.

     
  3. Jeannette

    May 1, 2012 at 1:33 pm

    The Philbrick book on the Essex is great, and I second the Into the Deep recommendation. I really enjoyed it. My 10 year old watched the first 45 minutes with me and enjoyed it too. I had to tell her a watered down version of the Essex before she would consent to go to bed.

     

Leave a Reply

 
