RSS

Joke’s on Me

14 May

sniggle – v.  to fish for eels by pushing a hook into the holes where they hide

Classic Usage:  I sort of don’t think that’s what HBS meant when she wrote, “. . . Marks patronized his joke by a quiet introductory sniggle.”

Classically Mad Usage:  This reminds me a lot of plashy from The Scarlet Letter.  Have I been mispronouncing  giggle all these years?  Yikes, I thought back then when I was worried that people had been snickering, or maybe nickering, at me it was just a joke.  It turns out they were actually sniggling.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on May 14, 2012 in The Blog

 

Tags: , , , ,

One response to “Joke’s on Me

Leave a Reply

 
