RSS

Topsy’s Cinquain

24 May

Topsy
wicked, cunning
tumbling, whistling, pranking
never had a mother
Experiment

Stowe ends chapter XX with this sentence about Topsy: “She is fairly introduced into our corps de ballet, and will figure, from time to time, in her turn, with other performers.”

Would you like to write your own cinquain about one of the “other performers” in
Uncle Tom’s Cabin?

 Here’s a simple version of the five-line poem.

one name
two adjectives
three -ing words
four word phrase or sentence
one word referring back to the title

Go ahead.  Write one.  You wouldn’t want Miss Ophelia to accuse you of being shiftless.

 
9 Comments

Posted by on May 24, 2012 in Uncle Tom's Cabin

 

Tags: , , , ,

9 responses to “Topsy’s Cinquain

  1. Sandy B.

    May 24, 2012 at 5:17 pm

    Here’s my first try — about one of my very favorite characters:

    Mrs. Bird
    gentle, diminutive
    caring, serving, defending
    passionately stood for justice
    Heroine

    At first I put “stood tall for justice” (to contrast with her diminutive size)…. I also wasn’t sure if I should put meek or gentle. Any suggestions? : ) Let’s all give this a try! Thanks, Christine!

     
    • Christine

      May 25, 2012 at 9:01 am

      Well done! I like the -ing line. Defending shows how strong Mrs. Bird is while still being motherly/womanly (caring/serving).

       
  2. Adriana @ Classical Quest

    May 25, 2012 at 4:27 pm

    These are excellent, ladies!

     
  3. Christina Joy

    May 25, 2012 at 5:06 pm

    This is fun. I’ve never written (nor known the definition of) a cinquain before, they really make you carefully analyze the characters. Here’s mine on one of my favorite characters:
    Augustine
    handsome, lovelorn
    indulging, enduring, sorrowing, seeking
    man looking for truth
    saved

     
    • Christina Joy

      May 25, 2012 at 5:07 pm

      And I’m super bummed, becuase I tried to make the spacing work so it would look all cool like they do when they’re centered and it didn’t work. Boo.

       
    • Christine

      May 25, 2012 at 5:11 pm

      My two favorite words in your cinquain: lovelorn and indulging. They fit St. Clare perfectly.

       
    • Sandy B.

      May 26, 2012 at 1:10 am

      This is great! Augustine was one of the more complex characters, and I think you captured that, as well as his transformation.

      I would love to see some about Ophelia and Dinah — anyone up for it? : )

       
      • Christina Joy

        May 26, 2012 at 10:55 am

        I actually started one for both of them as well as St Clare. I figured whichever one I finished first won. Maybe I’ll have the others bring up the rear if no one else plays. Play! Play! Play!

         
  4. Jeannette

    May 25, 2012 at 5:23 pm

    It’s been such a crazy week I can’t even think straight, let alone compose a cinquain. But – give me a good night’s sleep tonight and I’ll try to churn one out tomorrow. Now to ponder which character…

     

Leave a Reply

 
