RSS

Bang Up Description

15 Jun

Flauberts’ language is so descriptive that several times I’ve wanted to stop reading, grab the container of crayon bits and pieces, and sketch a little picture of a paragraph.  Sometimes, full of unfamiliar comparisons, his written representations baffle me.

In case you felt the same about the portrayal of Charles the schoolboy’s hair from the very first page of the very first chapter, I thought I’d do my part to help you out.  This is how our detail orientated author styles his young character:

The newcomer, who was hanging back in the corner so that the door half hid him from view, was a country lad of about fifteen, taller than any of us.  He had his hair cut in bangs like a cantor in a village church, and he had a gentle, timid look.

This is so exciting for me because  I.  Am.  A.  Cantor.  That’s right.  The Lutheran Church historically has called its church musicians cantors (although I prefer the spelling with a ‘k’)) and so I can show you what Charles’ boyhood bangs looked like:

Though he probably wasn’t plagued with gray hairs.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on June 15, 2012 in Madame Bovary

 

Tags: , , ,

One response to “Bang Up Description

  1. Adriana @ Classical Quest

    June 15, 2012 at 7:32 am

    hee hee hee 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
