RSS

Spring Cleaning Summer Style

16 Jun

I love summer.  It’s like January all over again for me.  New ideas, new plans, new resolutions, even here at the blog I have great expectations, and we read Oliver Twist.  I get an organizational bug that often melts away as quickly as a grilled popsicle, but never mind that, let’s strike while the artificially colored sugar-water is hot!

Item #1:  Since we have so many people reading with us these days (Hip!  Hip!  Hooray!!!) it might be good if we checked in every once in a while to find out where everyone is.  Now, mind you, this is not a competition.  We don’t set deadlines.  There’s no crying in classics, well, except for UTC.  Hebdomadally, or so, one of us will say, “So, what chapter are you on?” and everyone can answer in the comments.  Nothing official, just a way to help us keep track of where the gang is.

Item #2:  I want to update our “Other WEMers” on our sidebar.  When we began this blog over a year ago we had no idea we would end up linked to so many fabulously smart readers.  Now we want those links to be solidified with actual links.  If we don’t already have you listed there, please send us a message through our little feedback box.  If you blog mostly about other things, but have pages dedicated to WEM let us know how best to link those.  Just give me whatever info makes the most sense to you.

Oh no! Christine has three children. I only see two heads.
Wait, no worries, someone has to be holding the camera. Whew.

Item #3:  As previously stated, it’s summer, and while that means that there is no dust on my bedroom ceiling fan, it also means that schedules are erratic.  Camps, vacations, impromptu trips to the beach (if you’ve never visited Lake Michigan in the summer, schedule a trip soon, it’s a fabulous place to get some reading done, unless you’re too busy counting to make sure you still see five heads bobbing up and down in the waves) and other summer fun sometimes impede our ability to blog and/or respond to comments.  Please don’t give up on us if a day or two goes by with out a post or reply.  We love you, we just also love the sun, and when you live in West Michigan you have to soak up every ray possible and store it for those long winter months.

So, let’s kick this off with Item #1:

Sooooo, where are you in Madame Bovary (be sure to give the Part and Chapter number)?

 
11 Comments

Posted by on June 16, 2012 in The Blog

 

Tags: , , , ,

11 responses to “Spring Cleaning Summer Style

  1. Jeannette

    June 16, 2012 at 7:53 am

    Part II, Chapter 12.

     
  2. Christine

    June 16, 2012 at 8:36 am

    Part II, chapter 6

     
  3. Elizabeth Johnson

    June 16, 2012 at 9:37 am

    Um, still finishing up UTC (but I jumped in the pool a little late).

     
    • Christina Joy

      June 16, 2012 at 11:12 am

      No worries, I think all the excessive pool jumping around here may keep us posting on MB for a while.

       
  4. Christina Joy

    June 16, 2012 at 10:09 am

    Oops, I forgot to answer my own question: Part II Chapter 7

     
  5. Adriana @ Classical Quest

    June 16, 2012 at 11:06 am

    I’m going to start this weekend. I had to get my HBS road-trip out of the way first. Now I think I’m mentally ready to switch gears!

     
    • Christina Joy

      June 16, 2012 at 11:12 am

      I know exactly what you mean, I really have to be in the right frame of mind to switch out of one novel into another. My transition from MD to UTC was rough.

       
    • Sandy B.

      June 16, 2012 at 9:32 pm

      I’m looking forward to hearing all about your HBS road trip, Adriana!! 🙂
      I’ve been on vacation, and though I put Madame Bovary on my Kindle before leaving, I haven’t started it yet. I hope to start very soon.

       
  6. Tonia

    June 17, 2012 at 10:10 am

    Just finished Part 2!

     

Leave a Reply

 
