RSS

A Needed Whaling Break

24 Jun

Last weekend my children and I dashed to our local library’s used book sale.  My three know the routine.  Mom will help you dig through the children’s books and then you will patiently wait with your books in hand while she rummages through the grown-up titles.  You may even read your desired purchases while sitting under the very tables mom is perusing.

This time I struck out in the adult books, but look what my middle child found in the kids’ section.

“Mom, you need this.”

The book’s flyleaf says:

“Carol Carrick brings the golden age of American whaling to life in her detailed, tightly written text that traces the history of the whaling industry to the present day.  David Frampton’s woodcut illustrations portray the awesome power and beauty of the whales.” 

He was right!  I did need this book.  It’s not only informative but beautiful.  I wish I’d read it before starting Moby-Dick.  It would have helped me understand all of Melville’s whaling terminology.  I especially love this illustration.  Each of the sections of the ship above and below deck are labeled.  Remember the cutting room?

Who would have thought that I’d be happy to return to whaling in the middle of reading Madame Bovary

 
3 Comments

Posted by on June 24, 2012 in Moby-Dick

 

Tags: , ,

3 responses to “A Needed Whaling Break

  1. Adriana @ Classical Quest

    June 24, 2012 at 7:30 am

    You know, it’s funny — I kinda miss Herm too! That book looks really neat. Glad you showed us your find!

     
  2. Christina Joy

    June 28, 2012 at 1:27 pm

    Jerry really, really misses MD, and I’m starting to look fondly back on our whaling days as well. Maybe reading MD is like childbirth, during the process it’s totally agonizing. But oh! The happy memories!

     

Leave a Reply

 
