RSS

Hebdomadal Something is Better than Nothing

25 Jun

Somehow in the excitement of writing 10 anniversary posts I completely dropped the ball on Classic Word of the Day last week.  So, we went yet another week without a Hebdomadal Review.

*shakes head in shame*

Okay, it’s new week, so I’ll get working on some vocabulary posts right after we do a little “Where are you?” roll-call.

Me (Christina):  Finished Part 2 last week, but called a Madame Bovary Moratorium on my wedding anniversary.  It’s just wrong to read a book about adultery as you celebrate years of wedded bliss, and since all three of us at the blog had anniversaries this week, I hope my reading comrades followed suit.

Christine:  Also finished Part 2.  But, I’m guessing she’ll be done by the end of the week.  This is not a betting type of blog, but if it were . . .

Jeannette:  Finished.  As in the whole book.  Done.  Complete.  The End.  What are we going to do with this speedy reader?

You:  fill in the comment section with your answers friends.

 
18 Comments

Posted by on June 25, 2012 in Madame Bovary

 

Tags: , ,

18 responses to “Hebdomadal Something is Better than Nothing

  1. Sandy B.

    June 25, 2012 at 8:39 am

    I’m a little way into Part 2. By the way – random thought here – I was thinking yesterday that there could never be a kids’ version of Madame Bovary (because of the adult themes) — but then I remembered “Madame Blueberry” by Veggietales! : )

     
  2. Elizabeth @ DogFurandDandelions

    June 25, 2012 at 9:19 am

    About 8 chapters into Part 2.
    I admit, I’m struggling to get through this book. Not really enjoying the story line, or the long drawn-out descriptive sections. Anyone else with me?

     
    • Christina Joy

      June 28, 2012 at 1:22 pm

      I’m with you. Every once in awhile a descriptive part strikes me as profound, but it’s never when he’s describing the physical world, that it just drudgery, and the plot it depressing me.

       
    • Christine

      July 1, 2012 at 8:38 pm

      I found that sitting in a beach chair by Lake Superior greatly helped me speed through the book. As my husband listened to me whine about the book he kept asking, “So why is it considered a classic?” I think we’ll be discussing that question for quite a while.

       
  3. Jean

    June 25, 2012 at 10:44 am

    Aaaa! You’re right, Madame Blueberry is a nod to Madame Bovary! I NEVER thought of that. “I feel…woozee!” is a catchphrase around our house too.

    I am well into part 3 and expect to finish in a day or two. I don’t like to read it on Sundays (is that silly, or understandable?) so I read quite a lot of Little Women yesterday.

     
    • Christina Joy

      June 28, 2012 at 1:23 pm

      Totally understandable. I just keep reminding myself that it could be worse, he could be glorifying adultery, instead he’s just showing it for what it is, which is sad and deplorable.

       
  4. Adriana @ Classical Quest

    June 25, 2012 at 11:01 am

    Nearly finished with Part 2.

     
  5. Steph (@FABR_Steph)

    June 26, 2012 at 10:49 am

    Finished the book. I have a hard time reading more than one book at a time, so I dedicated my time to Madame Bovary.

     
    • Christina Joy

      June 28, 2012 at 1:25 pm

      Congratulations! I should do the same, because when faced with MB or another dose of Alexander McCall Smith’s Isabel Daulhousie, I’m choosing Isabel every time.

       
    • Christine

      July 1, 2012 at 8:39 pm

      Good for you! I’m happy to have this one finished.

       
  6. Adriana @ Classical Quest

    June 27, 2012 at 8:26 am

    Finished this morning.

     
    • Christina Joy

      June 28, 2012 at 1:24 pm

      Congratulations!!!!

       
    • Christine

      July 1, 2012 at 8:38 pm

      Yea!

       
  7. Elizabeth Johnson

    June 29, 2012 at 8:22 pm

    And… done! As of 3 this morning!
    I’m thinking Crime & Punishment will be much more exciting. At least, hoping.

     
    • Christine

      July 1, 2012 at 8:40 pm

      Super! I brought C&P along on vacation in case I finished Mme B, but I decided after finishing Flaubert’s work, I needed a classics break.

       
  8. Christine

    July 1, 2012 at 8:38 pm

    I’m finished too!

     

Leave a Reply

 
