RSS

One Last Time?

02 Jul

Based on the comments on in week’s Hebdomadal Check-in I’m guessing this will be the last one for Madame Bovary.  I finished late (way too late) last night, but once I got about 30 pages from the end I really just wanted to get it over with. In case you haven’t finished yet, don’t panic, just tell us where you are, and then keep reading, we’ll be posting more about our adulterous friend novel namesake for at least a week or so more.

For those of you who are finished, here are a couple of things you can do while you wait for our wrap-up posts:

  1. Answer the WEM questions.
  2. Take this little quiz (substantially less in-depth than the WEM questions, yet equally frustrating.)
  3. Locate your copy of Crime and Punishment.
  4. Contemplate your translator of C&P and purchase/down-load additional copies.
  5. Talk your friends into reading C&P along with us by enticing them with a free (rejected translator) copy of the novel.
  6. Drink a White Russian.
 
 

Tags:

10 responses to “One Last Time?

  1. Adriana @ Classical Quest

    July 2, 2012 at 8:55 am

    I spent some time in Russia when I was a teenager. I’m REALLY looking forward to my first Russian novel on the list!!!

     
    • Christina Joy

      July 2, 2012 at 9:07 pm

      Wow, what were you doing in Russia (if you don’t mind me asking, if you do, feel free not to answer)?

       
  2. Jeannette

    July 2, 2012 at 9:11 am

    Me too, Adriana. (As in looking forward to the Russians, not traveling to Russia.) I’ve always thought I “should” read one of them, but never have.

    I currently have NO copy of C&P. Local girls – any extras?

     
    • Christina Joy

      July 2, 2012 at 9:08 pm

      Sorry, Jeannette, we just own one hard copy, Jer’s going Kindle again.

       
  3. Sandy B.

    July 2, 2012 at 10:37 am

    I’m only about half-way finished, but I’m picking up speed. I plan to be done by Friday. Sorry — I was kind of spoiled by joining you guys beginning with Uncle Tom’s Cabin, which I adored. I’m having a harder time being eager to read this one. I’ve already flipped ahead and read the ending, which I almost never do, perhaps just to get the bad news over with. <: ] There are definitely things I like about the book, even though I'm frustrated with the main character….

     
    • Christina Joy

      July 2, 2012 at 9:10 pm

      I was pretty sure how it was going to end, just not the details. I did enjoy how the ending revealed some of the foreshadowing that I had missed.

      Oh, and here’s your obligatory reading cheer: Go Sandy!!! Read! Read! Read! You can doooooooooo it!

       
  4. Sandy B.

    July 2, 2012 at 11:25 am

    P.S. I love Madame Bovary’s comments in the cartoon bubbles on these check-ins! : )

     
    • Christina Joy

      July 2, 2012 at 9:06 pm

      Oh goodness, I just noticed the typo in this one. *hangs head in shame* Maybe if you just imagine it in a thick French accent it comes off less as a mistake and more like a pouting self-indulgent woman.

       
  5. Sandy B.

    July 5, 2012 at 5:25 pm

    I finally finished the book this morning!

     

Leave a Reply

 
