RSS

Oh Felicite!

03 Jul

tisanes – n.  herbal teas used for medicinal purposes

Classical Usage:  After Rodolphe leaves Emma, she falls into a deep depression which depletes her physically as well as emotionally.  She seemed to have no thought for anything beyond her own health.  She ate her tiny meals in bed, rang for the maid to ask about her tisanes or just to chat.

Classically Mad Usage:  In the winter I like to drink a cup of echinacea tea each day and pretend like it prevents me from getting sick.  Next winter I’ll call it my tisanes.  I hope the maid will understand what I’m talking about.  I hope I get a maid.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on July 3, 2012 in Madame Bovary

 

Tags: , , ,

One response to “Oh Felicite!

  1. Christine

    July 3, 2012 at 5:29 pm

    Can tisanes be served over ice in this 90+ degree heat?

     

Leave a Reply

 
