RSS

Silly question # …I’ve Lost Track

11 Jul

Part III, Chapter 2

Subject:  Jam Making

Quote: “The village was silent as usual.  At the corner of the streets were small pink heaps that smoked in the air, for this was the time for jam making, and everyone at Yonville prepared his supply on the same day.”

Well, I’ve make lots of jam in my time, both the canned and the freezer varieties.   Never has it involved small pink heaps that smoked in the air.   So what was going on here?  Did they all make their jam outside on fires in large smoking kettles full of pink goo?

I suppose they needed jam to go with their cream cheese, but, I’m still a bit confused.  Help?

 
4 Comments

Posted by on July 11, 2012 in Madame Bovary

 

Tags:

4 responses to “Silly question # …I’ve Lost Track

  1. Christina Joy

    July 11, 2012 at 11:55 pm

    My Mom (whose made more than her fair share of grape jellies and jams) said that they normally put the grapes in cheese cloth to keep out the seeds and skins and gunk, and that the cloth that they would throw out with it would appear sort of pinkish, steaming, not smoking though.

     
  2. jeanlp

    July 12, 2012 at 9:52 pm

    Oh, so the pink heaps were used cheesecloth? Thank you, I wondered about that!

     
  3. Steph (@FABR_Steph)

    July 14, 2012 at 4:37 pm

    Ah, I would have never guessed. What a beautiful picture thought. I would love to live in a town such as this.

     
  4. Jeannette

    July 14, 2012 at 7:49 pm

    My curiosity is satisfied. Thanks, Christina’s mother!

     

Leave a Reply

 
