RSS

Rereading Uncle Tom

26 Jul

Here’s a book I wish I’d found a few months ago.

The Annotated Uncle Tom’s Cabin by Harriet Beecher Stowe
Edited with an introduction and notes by
Henry Louis Gates Jr. and Hollis Robbins

It’s a hefty tome packed full of notes, explanations, and even questions about the text.  It also contains artwork: lithographs, posters, paintings, product labels and more.

Go ahead over to Amazon and click on “Search inside this book“.  I’ll wait…

It’s wonderful, isn’t it!  I would love to reread UTC using this version, but after a quick perusal, I will have to return it to the library and get back to Dostoyevsky.

But!  Readers, keep this in mind…  W.W. Norton & Co. has not only published this title, but they’ve published The Annotated Huckleberry Finn!  I’m putting it on my library hold list immediately!

The Annotated Uncle Tom’s Cabin… it’s one of the books on my nightstand.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on July 26, 2012 in Uncle Tom's Cabin

 

Tags: , ,

One response to “Rereading Uncle Tom

Leave a Reply

 
