RSS

An Open Love Letter to Half Price Books

01 Aug

Dear Half Price Books,

I love you.

Oh my, you’re blushing.  I’m surprised, I figured that you probably hear that kind of thing all the time.  But you’re super humble with your quaint wooden bookshelves and slightly musty-old-pages smell, so I can see how you probably never get used to such blatant statements of adoration.

I think the way you know what I want before I know is remarkable, and by offering these newly discovered literary treasures at such a reasonable price you show your kindness and understanding of my needs.

But there’s one other thing.  I miss you.  Over a decade ago I lived down the street from your Bedford, Texas store.  I visited you several times a week, and it wasn’t just because you were next to the best ice cream shop in the entire world, although that didn’t hurt any.

Since my move to Michigan I’ve looked in vain for your replacement.  I’ve tried out the used book sections of local book stores, browsed on-line, even paid for books at the library.  None of them are you, and so I ask this small favor:  could you please come to Grand Rapids?

We’re a nice place.  People read here.  They like books.  Lake Michigan is very close by, and you know how well books and beaches go together.  There are lots of homeschooling families who love a good deal on a book or twelve.  College students are all around us looking to stay within their meager budgets.  Rumor has it that there are even some book bloggers residing in the area.

But even if none of those things were true you could still open a viable store here.  I am probably the only customer you’d need.  Really.

I hope to see you soon.

Love,
Christina

P.S.  If you do decide to come here could you please bring some Milwaukee Joe’s ice cream with you?

 
5 Comments

Posted by on August 1, 2012 in The Blog

 

Tags: , , ,

5 responses to “An Open Love Letter to Half Price Books

  1. Stacy

    August 1, 2012 at 9:53 pm

    Or, you might consider cutting out the middle man and moving here…..

     
    • Christina Joy

      August 2, 2012 at 8:17 pm

      You’re always full of helpful suggestions, Stace. Always.

       
  2. Anna Herbener

    August 2, 2012 at 3:13 pm

    Paid for books…at the library…?

     
    • Christine

      August 2, 2012 at 4:01 pm

      Most of the local libraries around here have small sections of used books for sale. The books are either discarded from library circulation or are donations from patrons.

       
    • Christina Joy

      August 2, 2012 at 4:18 pm

      Also, there are the ones I pay for by losing them or spilling my morning coffee upon their poor, innocent pages. 😦

       

Leave a Reply

 
