RSS

Pot, I’d like to introduce you to Kettle

03 Aug

Nope, still no Madame Bovary wrap-up, but I do have a little observation about everyone’s least favorite adulteress*.

She is, what would be called in some circles, a diva.  You know the type, always wants it her way, will do anything necessary to get what she wants, expects the world to come to serve her, tends to be just a wee bit on the overdramatic side.

But the term diva originated from sopranos who, well, wanted things their way, especially the spotlight.

In this novel, where the word “puke” was scribbled in my margins far more often than “ha,” I did find the following observation from Emma’s trip to the opera pretty humorous,

But the mad scene interested Emma not at all:  the soprano, she felt, was overdoing her role.

*For the record my favorite literary adulteress thus far is Hester Prynne.  It’s kind of weird to have a favorite adulteress, isn’t it?  Hmmm, maybe I need to rethink this whole thing.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on August 3, 2012 in Madame Bovary

 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “Pot, I’d like to introduce you to Kettle

  1. Adriana @ Classical Quest

    August 3, 2012 at 9:07 am

    But the mad scene interested Emma not at all: the soprano, she felt, was overdoing her role.

    Oh. My. Goodness. I can’t believe I missed that!

     
  2. Jeannette

    August 3, 2012 at 12:37 pm

    Leave it to the music major to catch that little detail! Nice!

     

Leave a Reply

 
