RSS

Who Done It?

03 Aug

Recently, my son (age 13) asked about the book we were currently reading.   I told him it was a murder mystery, at which point, he asked if I had figured out “who done it.”   Well, readers, that part was easy, at least from our perspective.   It is revealed from the very beginning who will do it, and shortly after we are privy to the gory “doing” itself.   So, then, I ask, what is Dostoyevsky’s point here?  Obviously this is not one of those murder mysteries that keeps you guessing until the last page.  The author seems more interested in the psychology behind the murder. Why did he do it?   And what will he do now?   Will he be caught and punished?   When will all his friends and family figure out what Inspector Petrovitch seems pretty sure of?   Yes, son, I guess there are some mysteries to be cleared up in this murder.   We’ve got the crime – now on to the punishment.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on August 3, 2012 in Crime and Punishment

 

2 responses to “Who Done It?

  1. lutheranmama

    August 5, 2012 at 5:10 pm

    It seems that D also introduces his readers to certain political/social ideas circulating during that time through long philosophical arguments between R and his scholar friends. So, we’re studying the psychology of a murderer as well as the social & political climate that contributed. Whether or not D is criticizing those ideas is generally way over my head as I try to muddle through the monologues…I think I need some historical background.

     
    • Christine

      August 6, 2012 at 7:47 am

      Good observations! and I agree! I know Dostoyevsky is commenting on his times, but I’m just trying to hang on to the plot. We’ve said several times that it would be helpful to know more of the historical period for different novels. SWB even recommends some history books in WEM that will help. Since I know nothing about Russia, this may be the book that forces me back to history class.

       

Leave a Reply

 
