RSS

I’ve been wondering

05 Aug

I have for you today three stupid questions for the price of one.

Part I, chapter 3

What happened to Raskolnokov’s father?

In Mrs. Raskolnikov’s letter she writes, “Rodya, you are everything to us–our one hope, our one consolation.”
Doesn’t it sound like she’s describing Jesus and not her questionably sane son who’s pondering murder?

What’s up with Mrs. Rask closing her lengthy letter with “Yours till death”?
Now that’s the kind of closing that just gives a child a warm, fuzzy feeling, isn’t it?

 
9 Comments

Posted by on August 5, 2012 in Crime and Punishment

 

Tags: , ,

9 responses to “I’ve been wondering

  1. Stacy

    August 5, 2012 at 10:00 pm

    That’s what I say tommy kids every night as I tuck them in, ” Nighty- night. I’m yours till death. Sleep tight.”

     
    • Christina Joy

      August 5, 2012 at 10:20 pm

      Oh! So that’s why my kid’s have been asking me what’s wrong with you ever since we got back from your house.

       
    • Christine

      August 6, 2012 at 6:04 pm

      Are extra nightlights and teddy bears needed in your part of the US?

       
  2. Adriana @ Classical Quest

    August 5, 2012 at 10:46 pm

    Stacy, it’s fun having you on board. Are you just joining us for C&P, or will it be more long term?

    Good questions Christina. I agree the whole “you are everything to us–our one hope, our one consolation” thing was a bit disconcerting.

     
    • Christine

      August 6, 2012 at 6:05 pm

      Wouldn’t want to put extra pressure on the unstable family member.

       
    • Stacy

      August 7, 2012 at 5:13 pm

      Thanks! I have an interest in Anna Kareninininina, and I downloaded it to my iPad over a year ago, so I really have no good excuse (except for the fact that I now work full time – boo) to forgo the next reading task. We’ll see…..

       
  3. Christina Joy

    August 5, 2012 at 11:00 pm

    I’ve been wondering about his father, too. Also, I’ve been wondering about Michael Phelps’ father, do you have any insight on that?

    Yes. Jesus. I knew it made me think of somebody.

     
    • Christine

      August 6, 2012 at 6:02 pm

      I did quickly search for a Bible ref, but didn’t have much luck.

       
    • Stacy

      August 7, 2012 at 5:14 pm

      You are one of the funniest ladies I know.

       

Leave a Reply

 
