RSS

Suspense

10 Aug

Crime and Punishment Part I chapter 6

Raskolnikov has the axe hanging from the loop of fabric sewn into his coat.  With his mind distracted, he has walked to the house and rung the bell, knowing that  the pawn broker Alyona Ivanovna is waiting just on the other side.

He moved a little on purpose and muttered something aloud that he might not have the appearance of hiding, then rang a third time, but quietly, soberly and without impatience.  Recalling it afterwards, that moment stood out in his mind vividly, distinctly, for ever; he could not make out how he had had such cunning, for his mind was as it were clouded at moments and he was almost unconscious of his body…An instant later he heard the latch unfastened.

Dostoyevsy, it was at this part of your novel that you finally piqued my interest in your story.  I could hear Raskolnikov’s pounding heart.  I could see Alyona’s cautious hand.  Your well-crafted chapter ending had me anxious to continue reading.  Keep up the good work.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on August 10, 2012 in Crime and Punishment

 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “Suspense

  1. Stacy

    August 10, 2012 at 7:46 pm

    I know!!!!! I’m not sure I’ve ever had my heart beat so fast whilst reading. Not even during “Twilight”. 😉

     

Leave a Reply

 
